Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka lies in the Southern part of Asia, and consists of a large island and a number of smaller islands. Sri Lanka has maritime borders with India and the Maldives.

The history of the nation spans over 3000 years. Sri Lanka was known as Ceylon when the country was rules by the Portuguese, followed by the Dutch, and finally the British. The country obtained independence in 1948 and changed its name to Sri Lanka in 1972. The country has been marred by Civil War for over two decades, and only obtained peace in 2009. In addition to the Civil War, Sri Lanka was also hit by the 2004 tsunami.

The country has since undertaken numerous projects in an attempt to improve its economy. This includes establishing deep water harbors, a extensive railway network, highways and a national airline. Sri Lanka produces a diverse number of goods including textiles, diamonds and tea.
Capital: Colombo
Size: 65,610 square kilometers
Religion: Buddhist 70 % - Hindu 12 % – Muslim 10 % - Other 8 %
Population: 20,277,597
Government: Unitary Semi-Presidential Constitutional Republic
Infant Mortality Rate: 9.24 dead/1000 births
Hospital beds: 3,1 beds/1000 people
Life Expectancy: 76.15 Years
Health Expenditure: 3.4 % of GDP
Main Diseases: Malaria, Leprosy, Syphilis
Human Development Index Rank: 92 out of 186
Percentage of population living for less than $2 a day: 9 %